Quantcast

Miley360.com Steals Kineda.com Design

  • Posted by: Terry Ng
  • on Wednesday, August 6th, 2008

Kineda ripped by Miley360

The fools at Miley360.com have ripped the design of Kineda thinking we wouldn’t catch wind of it.

Please leave your comments here and on this Flickr screenshot.

Thanks for your support as usual!

  • heartofjosh
    • Posted by: heartofjosh
    • on August 6th, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    What idiots. They don’t even know how to steal properly. The links in the dropdown menu take you back to Kineda.

  • djmikey
    • Posted by: djmikey
    • on August 6th, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    They say imitation is the highest form of flattery, but this just spells LOSER to me. :D

  • Unregistered

    Weak move. As if they wouldn’t be found out. Oh well…they’ll never be able to steal your intellect, your brand or ability to innovate.

  • daniiiel
    • Posted by: daniiiel
    • on August 6th, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    hahaha, oh my gosh. i was just browsing through their site and a link took me right back to here. HAHA, whoever these guys are, they are idiots!

  • sandalian
    • Posted by: sandalian
    • on August 6th, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    What a lame :D

  • GameDudeX
    • Posted by: GameDudeX
    • on August 6th, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Damn F**kers!

  • David
    • Posted by: David
    • on August 6th, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    What are your actions going to be Terry? Ask them to take down the site? and if not?… What is interesting is to me how your design was copied (I’m no CSS expert but it must of been fairly easy)besides, biters will be eaten.

  • David
    • Posted by: David
    • on August 6th, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    I found the site that actually copied the theme, Miley360 was just the site that used it,

    http://demo.gbtutorials.net/wp.....llo-world/

    http://demo.gbtutorials.net/wp.....e=gbadik-i

    http://demo.gbtutorials.net/

    hope this helps.

  • Terry Ng
    • Posted by: Terry Ng
    • on August 6th, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    After getting no response through the contact form on the site, I’ve notified his host (Hostgator) of the rip along with a signed DMCA notice.

    It’s now their responsibility to verify the notice and rip, and take the site down.

  • Arthur
    • Posted by: Arthur
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 1:57 am

    being a web designer myself this is the worst thing than can happen to your website. It’s bad enough when people steel a design… but taking the actual template and keeping links that take you back to the orginal site is just damn incompotent and lazy!!
    admittedly, when i did start designing, i used the black version of your site as inspiration, but never would i have copied your CSS.. i did have a look but i was a novice back then and had no idea what i was doing!! lol

  • daniel
    • Posted by: daniel
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 2:49 am

    Jerks!
    But they didnt steal everything. They didnt steal us! Especially ME!
    At least, you can be proud of youself for a brilliant website -kineda- you did!

  • Unregistered

    Usually I would say: Imitation is the greatest compliment, but in this case, they are simply a bunch of thiefs!

  • Terry Ng
    • Posted by: Terry Ng
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Hostgator (the host of Miley360.com) has responded to the DMCA notice, and has been very cooperative and helpful in taking down Miley360.com for copyright violations.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/k.....otostream/

  • David
    • Posted by: David
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 11:38 am

    That’s one part of it, and should still contact the individual who originally copied your theme.

  • Terry Ng
    • Posted by: Terry Ng
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I’ve tried personally several times to contact the individual who copied my theme, but to no avail. Hostgator has notified them that their site has been shut down due to violations, but they aren’t allowed to divuldge contact information without a proper court order.

  • GameDudeX
    • Posted by: GameDudeX
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    YAY!!! Those bastards got what they deserved. =)

  • Unregistered
    • Posted by: ztnepres
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    … lmao??

  • David
    • Posted by: David
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Hmm, you can still do a check on them via WhoIs (cough), and you can work it out from there, if not, their host is DreamHost Web Hosting, we’re talking about GB Tutorials correct? (thats the where they got it from), if you need any help, just contact me by email.

    Miley630 was based off your theme off of another site, and thats the source.

  • Terry Ng
    • Posted by: Terry Ng
    • on August 7th, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    @David

    I initially did a check on them via WHOIS, which is how I discovered that their host was Hostgator (read above) which is public information, However, the registration information (name and contact infomration) is private.

    Not sure where you got DreamHost or GB tutorials from?

    Here’s a direct link to their WHOIS information, which no longer shows Hostgator since they’ve been booted from them:
    http://www.whois.net/whois_new.....38;tld=com

  • Terry Ng
    • Posted by: Terry Ng
    • on August 8th, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Ah, now I realize what you’re talking about. The original theme is from GBtutorials. I have contacted Dreamhost and will go from there. Thank you.

  • David
    • Posted by: David
    • on August 8th, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Not a problem, don’t need to send the email after all. :)

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.